Does my Bolivian ram look sick?

ChubbyBetta

Reaction score
Hi everybody.. hopefully there are some bolivian ram keepers out there that can help with this. Attached is a photo if my Bolivian Ram, I've had him a little over a month. I literally just want to know if he looks healthy! He's pretty active but only eats a tiny bit at a time. I usually have to fish some pellets out because my platy is eating them all and getting super fat. This gets really annoying. After doing some research I started worrying about parasites, sunken belly and found out that these guys are susceptible to worms.
Platy, Cory's and hegeli rasbora are his tank mates. Also, he's not shy at all, usually when he sees me, he'll come right up to the glass.

So yeah I'm curious to know if you all think he looks healthy or not (also don't know the sex) as this is my first time owning this type of fish.

Thanx!

Attachments

• 20211004_213218.jpg
    20211004_213218.jpg
    128.3 KB · Views: 45
This gut scared and is fading away, how many plants do you have in the tank. A picture of the whole tank would help. pH and temperature. Thanks

This gut scared and is fading away, how many plants do you have in the tank. A picture of the whole tank would help. pH and temperature. Thanks
You saying he's scared? He definitely seems to be the boss of the tank though, swimming and exploring all the time, and he doesn't really hide like I've heard they have a tendency to do because they're very shy. I have a total of 12 plants, 2 Anubias, 2 java fern, 1 amazon sword and 7 temple compacta. Spider wood and river rocks and nice sice artificial rock cave. 2 filters, acua clear 20 hob and a really small sponge filter. It's gravel substrate and I want to eventually change to sand but he was in gravel at the lfs so idk if that's an issue. PH is 7 - 7.2 temp is usually between 77-79. It has been a bit hot here these past days and it did get up to 80 and certain times. Sorry don't have another pic right now!