Disturbing Over Heard Conversation At Lfs.

doresy

Sometimes Right, Sometimes Wrong but ALWAYS certai
Reaction score
Hi, does this annoy you?

Today I was in my LFS awaiting my turn to enquire about some aquatic plants. I was behind this lovely old couple who were asking all sorts of questions about algae in their tank. The lad dealing with them was showing them scrapers and some sort algae-busting liquid. The enquiries went on to gravel vacuums and how to use them. A suggestion of catfish was made to which the couple said they had some and wanted some food for them. They were shown catfood pellets but they said their catfish looked different to that on the tub and pointed to the algae flakes and the picture of a plec!
Clearly, by the questions they were asking, they were complete novices and although starting fish keeping at their age is great to see and really sweet, one has to ask, who the hell sold them a PLEC. :crazy:

Its called an arm, hand, fingers and good old elbow grease ;)

Ive been sold three plecs and im a total novice! :unsure: Ive never thought anything of it? What else is gonna clean the tank?!?
Oh, I forgot to mention about their 10 gallon tank :rolleyes:

Ive been sold three plecs and im a total novice! :unsure: Ive never thought anything of it? What else is gonna clean the tank?!?

well for starters there loads of different plecs so its worth finding out what type you have.

also the size of your tank is important cos they vary in size alot.

as for the original post.

do you kno how big there tank was?

One would like to give the benefit of doubt and hope that they were novices with a 90 gallon tank. In which case, there would be nothing inappropriate about a plec, being pretty hardy fish. But yes I know- how likely is that?

well for starters there loads of different plecs so its worth finding out what type you have.

also the size of your tank is important cos they vary in size alot.

as for the original post.