Daize's Planted Photo Journal - 64L 1Wpg Low Light

daizeUK

Fish Botherer
Reaction score
This is my first tropical fish tank as well as my first attempt at a planted tank so this is very much a learning journey for me.  I'm afraid that this won't be up to the high standard of some of the other beautiful tanks you see on here!

Tank philosophy
The theme for this tank is fish playground!  The original motivation was to allow my two young children to experience having pets (can't get the usual furry pets due to allergies) so the emphasis will be on colour and activity rather than artistic style.  My primary concern is to have happy, healthy fish that are interesting and natural to watch.

As a beginner I wanted a low maintenance tank with easy plants that are suited to my water & light conditions, so I'll be sticking to low-light plants that don't need CO2 and are fairly hard to kill.  I've never been very good with terrestrial plants so I don't have a lot of faith in myself! 
smile.png

Tank & Lighting
The tank is an Interpet Fishbox 64L (17 US gallons), which I bought for the looks and did very little research beforehand.  As it turns out, it comes with terrible lighting - a 15W bulb on each side of the tank and very little wiggle room for upgrades or modifications.  Short of removing the whole hood, I'm pretty much stuck with <1WPG!  I quickly realised that the 'cool blue moon' bulb supplied on the left side of the tank is absolutely useless for growing plants so that's already been replaced with a second daylight bulb.

Other boring details
Interpet PF2 filter, Pets at Home aquarium sand substrate, Water pH 8.2 GH 15°d (hard), Flourish trace ferts.