Couple of questions from a beginner

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JPW003

Reaction score
Hi all
I am brand new to fishkeeping and so far really enjoying it. I have purchased an Aquael starter tank 54L with filter, heater (set to 24 degrees) and 6w LED which came with it. I cycled the tank for just over two weeks without fish, introducing 8 small to medium shop-labelled "Easy-Care" plants after a week. Yesterday I added 5 neon tetra's and they're doing well, or at least I think they are and they survived the night! My water is really good (I think!), and I test very regularly - although I live in a very soft water area, I've increased the hardness to roughly 7 and using test strips everything is coming out as "green" and good.
2 questions:-

1). I'm not sure if I need to do something about the lighting as I have plants. I feel I don't have enough lighting power/wattage (on 10 hours a day currently), but on the other hand I think I have easy-care plants and Neon Tetra's who I think don't like it too bright? Should I do anything about the lighting or is it fine to leave as it is in your opinion?
2). At some stage, I want to add more fish. I would like to add more Neon Tetras (as I think 5 is a low number and they need more friends, but this is what I was advised to start off with by the shop, then add more), and also add some little Cory catfish (think I've said that right!), shrimps and snails. This is my end goal so far, and would be interested to hear your opinions or quantities and when to add them over the coming weeks/months? Or if this combo wouldn't work!

Apologies for the long post and thanks so much for any replies, I'm really new to this but like I said loving it!

J

Hi all