Choosing Fish For A Fluval Edge

travelling-guppy

Reaction score
I can see these tanks are a bit of a marmite tank (love 'em or hate 'em) but I need some advice about which fish to choose. I am doing a fishless cycle so I am window shopping for fish at the moment. It is 23litres or 6 Gallons. It is planted up but now covered in algae due to the cycling I think.
I am keen to have lots of colour and movement. I don't want to breed fish as there is no space and I am just a beginner.

I was thinking
2 male guppies
2 male Endlers
6 green neons
2 cherry red shrimp

Is that realistic or not? I am not sure if keeping all male guppies and Endlers is OK or not and if a pair would be happy or whether they need to school.

Also, all the green neons I can find are live caught. Is there an issue with removing these fish from the wild. I am keen to be environmentally friendly and not endanger any species for the sake of my new hobby (although the green neons do look so lovely).

Any advice appreciated.
Many thanks.

I would avoid wild caught fish, tbh. It damages the local eco-systems and can put species in danger.

If you can't find any captive bred green neons, how about ember tetras, galaxy rasboras (AKA celestial pearl danios) or chilli rasboras?

I wouldn't keep both endlers and guppies, simply because I think that might overstock the tank a little, at least initially. I would choose endlers or guppies, get 3 males and get some more cherry shrimp. However, I don't see any huge problems with your stock plan.

Wild caught fish are often unavoidable and tetras are some of the most common wild caught fish - cardinal tetras are nearly all wild caught hence why they are hardier than regular neons. Also most shops will be selling wild caught tetras and be totally unaware as they have just ordered from the farms and importers rather than specifically importing the fish direct.