Breeding Cherry Barbs!

Morganna

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hey y'all!
Not sure if this thread belongs here since it isn't going to be a long term setup, but it's at least a journal of the experience. :)
So, last October, I acquired 10 cherry barbs, half male, half female. They've been doing great! The amount of breeding behavior that I see (males sparring, chasing) all depends on how much I feed them.

Only until now have I had the opportunity to attempt to spawn them! I've never tried to breed a fish before, so I'm very excited! I've been doing a lot of research on the timeline, supplies, and procedure.
I found a great deal on some used tanks on FB, a 10 gallon and a 20 gallon, along with a ton of air pumps and miscellaneous stuff. I'll soon get some plastic canvas and the brine shrimp eggs should come in soon. I've never hatched brine shrimp, so I'm happy to learn how to!
Yesterday I put together a diy sponge filter that I made out of a plastic, disposable water bottle, the cup that my late betta (it's been almost a year :( ) came in, ceramic spheres borrowed from the main canister filter, quilt batting/buffalo snow, and of course an air bubbler and air tubing. I'd like to give credit to this YT tutorial for the making of the filter.

Already, after only 24 hours, I can see that it's working! This filter will cycle in the main tank for two weeks, and then I'll set up and put this into the breeding 10 gallon tank. I plan to use the plastic canvas (black in color) to divide the 10 gallon in half, as well as to make a false bottom so that they can't eat the eggs once they've been laid. I'll put females on one side and males on the other, feeding 2x a day, and changing water every other. After a week or two (or until the females look ready) I'll remove the divider, toss in spawning mops turn off the light, and check on them every hour.
IMG_20230613_193529640.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20230613_193509089.jpg
    IMG_20230613_193509089.jpg
    282.1 KB · Views: 24