Best fish for beginners?

addisfinalfilm

Reaction score
I have been keeping fish for about 9 months now but just recently upgraded from a 10 gallon tank to a 40 gallon. I moved my 4 cherry barbs into the 40 gallon (which they are doing great in) but I also purchased 8 mollies and a pleco to add in as well. I researched the mollies and pleco for weeks prior before adding them and everything I had read said mollies are easy and beginner friendly fish. They have all slowly died over the few weeks i've had them and only two black mollies have survived (and the pleco and cherry barbs of course). After trying to figure out why that is, I've seen what I didn't initially see which is that they really aren't that easy to keep and probably aren't the best fish for someone not so experienced like me. So I figured it would be better to come on a site like this and ask what fish are actually good beginner fish. Sorry for the long thread, and thanks to anyone who replies!

Most members on here would suggest keeping fish that suits your tap water parameters unless you use RO water. Do you know what hardness your water is? I believe mollies prefer harder water and cherry barbs soft-medium hardness.

If you are on mains water, look on your water provider's website and see if they give your hardness. You need a number and the unit of measurement rather than some vague words - the unit is important as there are several they could use.
If you are on well water, the simplest would be to take a sample of your tap water to a fish store and ask them to test for GH. Again, get a number and the unit of measurement.
The most expensive way is to buy a GH tester.