Beginner Wanting To Keep Cichlids

Matt Gleadow

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to fish keeping. I've got a Jewul 96L tank.

I would like to keep Cichlids if possible as they have very interesting colours and shapes.

I found a site that has tank setup recommendations varying on the size of the tank you have.

For a tank that is similar to mine in size (mine is slightly bigger) this is the list of recommendations

http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/cookie_cutter_20g.php

Would any of those setups be a wise idea for my tank? Would just like to double check before I go ahead setting my tank up for Cichlids.

I'm just looking round for ideas at the moment so any suggestions are welcome. The only decent fish shop is 35 miles away from me so I will have to see what they can get in aswell before I set my heart on anything.

Like I say I'm new to fish keeping so please tell me if I am barking up the wrong tree entirely!

i do the apistogramma variation - works fine

if you want to know more try the african cichlid people, but in my very limited knowledge - looks fine, i like the yellow lab variation infact i'm eyeing my emtpy 20 gallon tank now!

That is one of the ones I was thinking of. But its getting hold of the fish thats going to be the problem

No way i would keep Kribs in a 20gall tank. Rams and Apistos if i really had to, but rather not.

whaaaaat apistos are great! :D

rams are nice but i've not had much luck with them

bit confused wihich variation were you thinking of? and where are you someone might be able to suggest a good shop

The yellow lab variation. I'm in South Cumbria, UK.

The only decent sized shop around here is in Penrith, North Lakes Aquatics. I know they sell cichlids, but not sure what sort. Need a trip up there sometime.

The yellow lab variation. I'm in South Cumbria, UK.

The only decent sized shop around here is in Penrith, North Lakes Aquatics. I know they sell cichlids, but not sure what sort. Need a trip up there sometime.