A Story Of Stunting

dixaisy930

I'm trying really hard to act normal
Reaction score
I debated with myself on whether or not to share this on here, but I've read so many posts lately about keeping fish in smaller tanks that recommended, I felt a need to post this. I would like to share something from the beginning of my fish keeping life....

As a fish newbie, I did not understand the idea of tank size and the amount/type of fish. I had two pregnant female guppies in a two gallon hex aquarium. These females soon gave birth to several fry. I soon gave the female guppies to a teacher friend for her aquarium in her classroom, and I was left with five guppy fry. I kept them is this tiny aquarium, oblivious to the cramped quarters these fish were living in. Obviously, one by one the poor things died, and I was eventually left with just one male. To this day, I still feel sick about that poor guppy. He lived for about a year, but he was in no way thriving. He was about 1/4 the size of a normal, adult guppy, and had a horribly deformed spine (he was completely bent in the middle). I can in no way, explain the biology behind this, but I truely believe if the fish was kept in the proper size aquarium, he would have had a normal development.