70l Dennerle aquarium

EmmaS

Reaction score
Hello all,

I decided to rescape my 70l Dennerle aquarium again. This will be low tec and snail free home for my fish. I will be using all in vitro plants and some cuttings from my other tank. I'm still learning myself but have gained valuable experience with the help of the Internet and reading articles. This has helped me breed fish and feel more comfortable about the hobby.
Anyway......
I've placed gravel in bags and used aquabasis plus substrate. I also placed some root tabs about.
Don't expect good quality photos on a budget phone.
IMG_20240131_092340.jpg

I have reused my dragonstone and a piece of bogwood. The Range do some nice smal pieces bogwood at cheap prices.
I have capped it with Unipac silica sand. A 20kg bag for £15.63 including delivery. That's a bargain.
Unfortunately the hardscape pieces are a bit small so lack a bit of height.

IMG_20240131_101024-2.jpg

I'm using the Fluval nano light on full power for 6 hours. Another hour for ramp up and down. I will take it easy as it's a non co2 aquarium.
For filtration I'm going with a mini Nicrew Hob and a surface skimmer as I didn't wash the sand.
In the back of the tank is a sponge filter not connected yet.
Plants used....
Hygrophila Polysperma and Sunset
Limnophila Sessilflora
Taiwan Lilly
Frogbit
Dwarf Lettuce
Java fern
Anubias Petit
Cryptocoryne Lucens, Flamingo, Green Gecko, Affinis, and I think Mioya.
Ordered
Water Sprite, Cryptocoryne Petchii and Moneywort
Fish stock
Cherry shrimp
1 amano shrimp getting some more
8 Galaxy Rasboras home bred. Want to breed more. I would like about 12-15 in this aquarium
A pair of Borellii
Waiting now for tank to clear up and some more plants arrive and to settle in.
I will be dosing Easylife Profito weekly as recommended straight away
Fish fed mainly live foods only
IMG_20240201_134334_HDR.jpg