20G Ecosystem dirted offshoot from 40G thread

noahm

Falun Dafa Hao!
Reaction score
So in my other thread Here, I had planned on doing a 40G breeder with 20G fuge/sump, but due to a likely house move in the next year, I felt like that would be a difficult setup to properly move. After much deliberation, I decided on a 20G standard/tall. I decided to have this be the thread so the title was no longer misleading.

This all started with my 8yo daughter asking for "a fish". My background is both FW and SW reef, so I have learned to appreciate the ecosystem approach, have a background in both biology and engineering (Horticulture science and Mech/Elec), and I am not afraid to take a few chances. This 20 is a perfect opportunity for that while giving her a smaller scale tank to learn from. That said, I have been tank free for about 12 years.

The plan is/was dirted sand with light filtration, heavy planting and small fish/shrimp bioload. I know there are some adamant anti-dirters on here, but I have differing experience (and dirt).

First I had to make a stand (it's in the other thread, but here are a couple of pics. Just a brute force design with a nice skin.

Frame
stand1.jpg

skin on

stand2.jpg

There is a bit of experimenting going on in this one and I may regret it, but there is precedence. My "dirt" I got from literally scooping top(ish) layer of mud from the creek in my back yard. I had intended on just adding a little bit to get things started, but the pudding looked so good I used it as the "dirt" layer under the sand. I went with about an inch of goop and 1.5" about of multi-purpose sand from HD. I should have rinsed the sand, but it was very cold outside and it "seemed" clean -- more on that later. I will also use water from the creek for WC. My feeling is it is better than tap, but there is always a small risk of introducing things, but also many benefits of bio-active nature-filtered water.

IMG_20231220_180233.jpg

plants arrived