Help with newish aquarium - sand substrate

Kelly Preussner

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am not necessarily new to aquariums, but I’m new to using sand substrate. I have always had gravel bottom aquariums and recently decided to start a 20 gallon sand substrate bottom. I got a little heavier sand (not the real fine kind) in hopes it would be easier to vacuum which it is. I do weekly water changes & some bottom of tank cleanup with the water change. My sand bottom is looking worse and worse as time goes on and my water has never been very clear. Is this some kind of algae? My tank looks so dirty! I have enclosed pics. Today is cleaning day and it has been a little longer since my last clean (10 days). Even with my other aquariums if I went two weeks without cleaning, they never looked this bad. Before I start my cleaning today, I am tempted to go to the store and get gravel and replace the sand with gravel. Suggestions??
In my tank, I just have guppies and one Molly.
I also have two plants. I used to have nerite snails, but have not gotten them for this tank yet because I was not sure about the sand bottom - it’s very soft & I was not sure they could move along the bottom.
I should also note that all the new guppies I have purchased have died in this tank. The only living guppies I have are my original from my old tank and fry that have been born.
Ph is 8.3 (always been high)
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5.0 (lowest on my chart)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_1152.jpeg
    IMG_1152.jpeg
    451.1 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_1151.jpeg
    IMG_1151.jpeg
    506.1 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_1150.jpeg
    IMG_1150.jpeg
    511.4 KB · Views: 18
A close-up picture of the sand would help, but it looks like you've got a diatom bloom going on. Does it look like a film of brownish dust that sticks to everything, including the lower glass?