Why is my Monte Carlo staying a browny colour?

Tropical Tony

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I’ve had my tank for nearly 7 weeks now and my Monte Carlo has spread across the bottom at quite a speed. However the leaves are mostly a browny colour. Here’s a few pictures. I half dose flourish twice a week and put liquid Co2 in every day. Like I say it has spread fast but it just doesn’t look that lovely green. Any ideas?
4FDB409D-2608-4764-8F9D-A2770CDBFB6C.jpeg
40B7C739-BDC0-48B2-95D2-DC1D73945DE7.jpeg
11D06D33-EFB5-4962-9ACB-37DDC64CDD51.jpeg

Hi Tony, what sort of lights do you have in there and what is the substrate? It looks like you are getting some algae growing on it too so it might be worth diagnosing what type it is and what is causing it. I'm only learning curve of planted tanks but it would be worth looking at the contents of the liquid Co2 as it has some pretty nasty stuff in it and isnt really a good substitute for something like presurised Co2.

Hi Tony, what sort of lights do you have in there and what is the substrate? It looks like you are getting some algae growing on it too so it might be worth diagnosing what type it is and what is causing it. I'm only learning curve of planted tanks but it would be worth looking at the contents of the liquid Co2 as it has some pretty nasty stuff in it and isnt really a good substitute for something like presurised Co2.
Hi Wills,

thanks for the reply. It’s API’s Co2 Booster. All the other plants seem to be thriving it’s just the Monte Carlo what’s having trouble. It’s a 30 watt ciano light what come with the tank. Not sure on the PAR rating. With the algae could it be a case of my tank is still fairly new and it’s diatom algae?

It is probably diatoms to be fair - how big is the tank? Do you have any clean up crew? Would a group of shrimp be compatible something like Cherries or Amano?

Hi