Which Plants..

Squid

grumpy old man!
Reaction score
ok planting people.. suggestions please..

Just purchased a Juwel Rio 180.. so 180 litres of space to play with.. Im a newbie, and looking for an easily to maintain setup.. I would like to have real plants rather than the plastic stuff, but do not want the extra work of CO2 yet (only just learnt about cycling, so calm down eh!!!)

so.. can anybody recommend which plants, and approximate ammounts that would make the tank look nice, with taller stuff at the back and smaller at the front etc., and easy to maintain.

I would love a tank that looks like Jimbooo's but i need to get my fish fingers before my green fingers....

Cheers
Squid :)

ha ha, cheers squid.

nows the time to set it up correctly if you want a tank like mine. it's a hell of a job to do it at a later stage. pm me if you want to go the whole way and i'll hold your hand so to speak.

here's a pic of my tank soon after set up.

picture29.jpg

to turn that into the pic in my sig all you need to add is

- 2 more lighting tubes
- 2 hagen nutrafin units
- 1 big box of laterite

then learn how to look after the plants. (much easier than you think)

pleeese say you want my help, i could do with a new project to get stuck into. :lol:

:lol: once the hardwear is correct you just plop them in and they grow -_- . all you need to do is feed them. the problems arise when their is a fault in the set up

ie:

not enough light
not enough co2
not enough nutrients in the substrate

blah blah..

get the hardwear sorted FIRST and it's a doddle.

i have skipped over the algae bit though but you'll have to deal with that in any tank so irrelevant to the decision making process.

go on i dare ya, go silly with it. it's great fun and more than rewarding.

pleeese say you want my help, i could do with a new project to get stuck into. :lol: