Where are they?

ggk

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the acquarium world, since purchasing a 10 gal tank with some guppies and platties for my 85 yr old mother to enjoy. We are both getting a kick out of watching these fish and then we had a population explosion. So. . . now I set up another 10 gal tank and separated the platties into their own tank. I think we must have over 100 babies in the guppy tank. Now for the problem, I bought 2 plecostamus (sp?) and put one in each tank. The tanks have covers but both of the plecos(is this what people are referring to) have disappeared - I mean they are gone, no trace of them at all. Is it possible they died and the other fish ate them in 1 day? Thanks for any help as I am baffled.

even if the other fish ate them they wouldn't eat them all the way.Try sticking your hand in and moving stuff in the water.My fish died and i found him logged under a rock.

They jumped out, they're excellent jumpers. I believe they jumped out... lol... Or they're hiding but I still believe they jumped out... Look at any where from 6 feet away from the aquarium.. Check everything even if it's a sock... lol :) or check on the side of the tank or anywhere :p..

I cleaned out the entire acquarium, I moved rocks & plants & went through the gravel, I moved furniture, heck, I even went upstairs and looked through my entire sock drawer - no plecos. I have heard of a cat burglar, has anyone ever heard of a pleco burglar. I am convinced that is the only possible answer. Remember two plecos disappeared from 2 different tanks and both tanks are covered. :/

OH don't wrry about ti for a few day's and just take a small look out for them every once in a while cause my clown pleco is the greatest at hiding, even after i moved everything out of the tank i still could not find him and thought my large catfish ate him but then 6 hours l8r there he was, and yet he still gow's missing everyonce in a while..

Damien