Whats wrong with my fish?

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Cait07

Reaction score
I have 6 rummy nose tetras in my tank and one seems bloated ive tried numerous water changes now and i know its not over feeding. Anyone have any knowledge?

Attachments

• 73F2A950-494F-49C9-A45C-6265C48C56A8.jpeg
    73F2A950-494F-49C9-A45C-6265C48C56A8.jpeg
    137.8 KB · Views: 74
  • 881F15CC-2058-421B-BB90-D2D4EED41238.jpeg
    881F15CC-2058-421B-BB90-D2D4EED41238.jpeg
    168.4 KB · Views: 76
Welcome to TFF. :hi:

I have very little experience with fish disease (fortunately) and I willnever guess. Other members like @Colin_T or @Deanasue or @essjay will be able to offer advice on the specific issue.

But the green tint to the water and the green algae on the substrate suggests there may bee water condition issues, and these can stress fish making them more susceptible to any disease. Can you post numbers for tests like ammonia, nitrite, especially nitrate, and what is the GH (general hardness) and pH? This data will help the other members too.

Rummy nose should be in a larger group, but let's get this issue resolved before that...and we need to know the tank size (volume and dimensions) going forward.

How long did it take to get that fat?

It's either a tumour or cyst or internal bacterial infection.

Tumours and cysts take a month or more to grow that big. The fish will normally keep eating while these grow. Eventually the fish dies.

Internal bacterial infections cause the fish to swell up overnight and the fish normally stops eating and dies a few days later.

Welcome to TFF. :hi:

I have very little experience with fish disease (fortunately) and I willnever guess. Other members like @Colin_T or @Deanasue or @essjay will be able to offer advice on the specific issue.