Whats The Best Sand

CraigBaines

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
ok so iv just ordered this background for my tank, and i think that sand would set if off.

Iv bee looking and it all seems quite exspencive, concidering its just sand... lol

Whats the best type/cheapest to get, and where from.

Thanks, Craig

Attachments

• bk.jpg
    bk.jpg
    48.8 KB · Views: 40
ok so iv just ordered this background for my tank, and i think that sand would set if off.

Iv bee looking and it all seems quite exspencive, concidering its just sand... lol

Whats the best type/cheapest to get, and where from.

Thanks, Craig

Im no expert on sand but i think the cheapest is argos play sand, BUT i have heard a lot of problems with this sort i.e. toxins build up ect

The other sand i have read about is toys 'r' us play sand which is a bit more expensive but is impeccable. but im only quoting what i have read and have experience with neither so i will let the experts point you in the right direction :good:

Well i read somthing about argos sand, i looked and its like £3 for 15kg. seems abit cheap compared to aqaurium labbeled sand, surly there's a reason for the price differance? lol

Well i read somthing about argos sand, i looked and its like £3 for 15kg. seems abit cheap compared to aqaurium labbeled sand, surly there's a reason for the price differance? lol

As soon as you put "Aquarium" in front of any product the price sky rockets. Its the same as "aquarium" salt. You can buy salt at a supermarket that doesnt have a cacking agent in it and its quarter of the price.

People use argos playsand for the exact reason its £3 for 15kg :shifty:

But as i said toys 'r' us playsand is supposed to be better

i've had the argos play sand in my tanks for around 2 months now my grandad had it in his for over 3 years! Never had any problems with it my self and i know a fair few members on here who have used it or indeed toy'sr us sand too