What's that smell!!?

fishfight

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I'm VERY new to this whole fish thing, but I have a 30 gal.(US) tank that I set up about a week ago, and there is a horrible smell coming from it. Of course it's a fish tank, and it's going to smell, but this is worse then my friends 30 gal., and my 10 gal., any suggestions on how to tame this? Is there an excessive amount of waste that can cause this? I have a silver cat shark, an albino clawed frog, two skirted tetras, and 2 angels. Is there an anti-smell fish I can buy? :sick:

If your using excessive amounts of carbon in your filter, that could be it!

I'm not quite sure what the last poster meant, Is it a sulfer smell, AKA rotten Egg smell? that would be the result of anerobic decomposition, I think you are propably overfeeding and not vacuming thuroughly enought, also what kind of substrait do you have?

Also be sure to check under the hood and around the filters to make sure any mold is not growing on any of the comments. That is where my stinky smell came from. Thank goodness it is gone now.

fishfight said:
Of course it's a fish tank, and it's going to smell...
Um, just as a sidenote, well-kept fish tanks don't smell. In general, smelly water usually means it's dirty. The only smelly thing about fishkeeping I can think of is the food.

fishfight said:
I'm VERY new to this whole fish thing, but I have a 30 gal.(US) tank that I set up about a week ago, and there is a horrible smell coming from it. Of course it's a fish tank, and it's going to smell, but this is worse then my friends 30 gal., and my 10 gal., any suggestions on how to tame this? Is there an excessive amount of waste that can cause this? I have a silver cat shark, an albino clawed frog, two skirted tetras, and 2 angels. Is there an anti-smell fish I can buy? :sick:
has your tank been cycled cause in your post u say its been set up for a week?

Morrgan said:
fishfight said: