What Would You Do? Cichlids In A 1600 Gallon Tank...

TriPaC87

Reaction score
Newbie here... I hope this is the right place to ask this question!

I need some advice/opinions! I have a 1600 gallon freshwater tank and I'm not sure what my next move should be.

My boyfriend built this tank in his house about 10 years ago and has had a lot of different varieties of fish. Winter of 2010 we traveled to Canada and had a little mishap with our friends feeding the fish and the water temperature... needless to say, the two Knife fish he had and one pleco died. We let the tank sit with nothing in it (other than water) until around June of this year. We went to the local pet store and got two Cichlids (don't know what kind) and 10 little white plecos. We figured this would be a decent start for a new tank and it would be much better than looking at an empty fish tank! The plecos devoured all the algae that had grown and the tank is nearly completely algae free now. (It was DISGUSTING.) The cichlids are doing well and now we are looking into getting more fish.

So my questions are:

What are some good fish to add to my tank?

Any schooling fish suggestions?

What kind of cichlids do I have?

Any advice or help would be great!

Tank dimensions are 12 x 4.5 x 6. (Right now we have a little leak issue in the top left corner that we are addressing.)

Both fish are in this pic... one white and one blue/grey.

Attachments

• 2012 Oct-Dec (555).JPG
    2012 Oct-Dec (555).JPG
    43.4 KB · Views: 60
  • 2012 Oct-Dec (532).JPG
    2012 Oct-Dec (532).JPG
    56.4 KB · Views: 33
1600 GALLONS? Are you sure?! Not litres?? That would then be about 400 gallons, which is still humungous.
The measurements you give give approx 2000 gallons, I don't know what to believe. but I AM jealous.

This is the biggest tank I've seen up to now:
http://www.fishforum...us-gal-project/