What To Do With My Tank (High Ph Problem)?

Gruffle

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi, I have a bit of a problem with my tank and would like some advice regarding what to do with it.

It's an old ish planted 155L tank, with one internal and one external filter, I've had it since 2009ish so it's well established.

My inhabitants were...

6 serpea tetra
1 RTBS
2 kribs
2 keyhole cichlids
1 BN plec

A couple of months ago I started to have some deaths but didn't test the water straight away. After a couple more deaths I tested the water and the Ph was 8.2
saddam.gif
(Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate etc is 0)

I tested my ph out of the tap and it is 7, however after adding water conditioner it shoots up past 8. If I add literally a mililitre of conditioner to a 10L bucket of water it goes up to 7.6, anymore and i have to use a high PH range kit to detect it.

I've been checking the ph as I add it to the tank for a couple of months now but the tank PH isn't going down (I believe the water in my area is very hard however I don't have a hardness kit to confirm this)

I've used two brands of water conditioner, both with the same results, I've tried an API one and a nutrafin one (I think anyway, it looks like washing up liquid, in a bright yellow bottle?)

Presumably there is something in my water reacting to the conditioner, as I've always thought the stuff itself was ph neutral.

I've always thought that it's better to have a stable PH rather than adding crap to it to force it down to 7.

At the minute my survivors are a tetra, one of the keyholes and the BN plec (Which i'm pretty sure is invincible, it used to spends it's days bullying a Firemouth Cichlid in my old tank  :D)...I realised the other day i'm in danger of the cycle stalling due to lack of fish so need to due something about it or i'm going to lose all of them.

...so basically I want to make the best out of a bad situation.

Any ideas?

As stated above I don't really want to try forcing the ph to 7 chemically.