What Predators Could I Add To My Tank

africantigerfish7

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have a 60 gallon freshwater aquarium that is ready to go. I'm not quite sure what to add to it, but I am planning on putting predators in there. I don't mean cichlids, I mean the pure predators. If anyone could suggest what type of fish could thrive in my tank, I would really appreciate.

i'm no expert at all, but a piranha may need more than a 60 gallon tank, they are schooling fish, so if you kept say 4 red bellies (species tank) (the most commonly found type) you need 20 gallon per fish really. that's what 5 minutes on google told me anyway!

you could have a freshwater puffer species tank?

I have a 60 gallon freshwater aquarium that is ready to go. I'm not quite sure what to add to it, but I am planning on putting predators in there. I don't mean cichlids, I mean the pure predators. If anyone could suggest what type of fish could thrive in my tank, I would really appreciate.
Species tank for Exodon paradoxus?

You'll have to research eels first if you want to have one, they are very demanding, they require lots of hiding spaces and become very large, for example a moray eel would be more suited to a 120 gallon tank.

There are however much smaller eels which would fit happily in your tank.

Tiger fish, relatives of the Piranha grow upto 30", look it up, it's got a mean pair of jaws, similar looking to the Barracuda, thats a nice fish also.

freshwater puffer. they are excellent fish.. although I think chiclids are amazing fish. i watched them at the lfs and they are such commical fish.

I'd say a large school of Exodons, like 15-20. But that may just be me, I have no experience with these fish but the fascinate me.

i was planning to make an all predator tank too. senegal bichir, african brown knife, and a african butterfly fish. or you can get a school of exodons if you have access to them