What Order?

Malawifan

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello I'm new to the forum. I've been keeping fish for about 8 months. I'm running a tetratech ex1200 filter (standard set up). I've just bought some alphagrog and want to replace some of the media with it. I'm unsure which of the media to replace.

Top tray Purigen and floss

Foams

Scrubbies

Bottom Ceramic rings

Thanks for any help guys

Replace the purigen I dont think you need it. You could also add more ceramics in trays you have room in

I've been using the Purigen and carbon for the last few months and my water quality is great. I would rather keep the top tray for those items. Would I replace he scrubbie balls for the alphagrog or the ceramic rings? And should I do a 50/50 old and new media. I'm heavily stocked at the moment so I would have to be careful not to shock the tank.

Thanks

I've been using the Purigen and carbon for the last few months and my water quality is great. I would rather keep the top tray for those items. Would I replace he scrubbie balls for the alphagrog or the ceramic rings? And should I do a 50/50 old and new media. I'm heavily stocked at the moment so I would have to be careful not to shock the tank.

Thanks

Items like carbon are money makers for the filter companies. The only benafit of using carbon is removing meds you've used before hand. Apart from that it's fairly useless.

ceramics are what the bacteria live on. The more you have the more good bacteria you have. If you have old media put as much as possible if not all the old media in if your heavily stocked.

So I could remove the scrubbie balls from that tray and add the alphagrog and keep all the rings in the other tray?

Thanks

P1000289.jpg

A quick pic

Replace the purigen I dont think you need it. You could also add more ceramics in trays you have room in

Thanks