What Makes A Filter Good?

Seriz

Reaction score
Hi gang! I know next to nothing about filters so I thought I'd ask the experts. I have about 3 years' experience of tropical fish-keeping and have only had two different kinds of filter in that time so I don't have much to compare with. I currently have a 45 gallon tank with a Fluval 205, what's the general consensus on this one? The guy in the fish store doesn't rate it but didn't give a reason why. What is it that makes one filter better than another?

A good filter needs to be reliable, have a good turnover rate and hold plenty of media. Fluval are ok, but some have had problems with them leaking (externals), Tetratec are considered good filters, eheim being the best filters but more expensive than other brands.

A good filter needs to be reliable, have a good turnover rate and hold plenty of media. Fluval are ok, but some have had problems with them leaking (externals), Tetratec are considered good filters, eheim being the best filters but more expensive than other brands.

thank you for the reply.

i have a fluval 205 in my 55gal with a fluval 4+ as well and they do the job more than good enough with a total of 1600 LPH which is 8x turnover this is the ideal turnover for cichlids and will keep most aqauriums in top condition so IME i cant fault fluval filters

take it you have never had any problems with yours nelly ? ... and i also love juwel filters i have never changed the one in my rekord 96 and water is always top quality the only thing i have ever changed it the floss at the top

Reliability. You want it to last and not present any problems. To me, second would be it's ability to hold the proper/different types media. Some filters offer little options as to what media you an add. Next would be the noise level as you don't want a filter that is so loud you can't carry on a converstation (or keeps you awake at night).