what if the tank is too small?

bigbites

Reaction score
Hello folks, I am new to this Forum but not new to acquariums.
Allthough I am new to having a small tank.. some background:

I moved to California last year and since I will be moving again at the end of this year I didn't get a large tank nor did I move my old one. I now have a 6 gallon Eclipse tank and I just put 2 small Albino Auratus in the tank.. check here for more info

http://www.ekkwill.com/albinomauratus.html

My wife bought them for me and the fish guys told her that although they grow to about 6 in, they will only grow enough to fit in their surroundings and should be ok, if we don't put any more fish in the tank.

Rather than tell her to take them back I put them in the tank.. as of now, they are small enough. What I wanted to ask you guys, is if you believe that or if there is still a danger to the fish. I was told before that although they can somehow stunt their growth on the outside.. their internal organs continue to grow and they suffer a terrible death.

What do you guys think.. I think there may just be enough room for them to grow to adult hood and still be relatively comfortable. Maybe I will have to take ONE out in a month or so..but that should be it in my opinion.

What do you all think?

Bites

bigbites said:
Hello folks, I am new to this Forum but not new to acquariums.
Allthough I am new to having a small tank.. some background:

I moved to California last year and since I will be moving again at the end of this year I didn't get a large tank nor did I move my old one. I now have a 6 gallon Eclipse tank and I just put 2 small Albino Auratus in the tank.. check here for more info

http://www.ekkwill.com/albinomauratus.html

My wife bought them for me and the fish guys told her that although they grow to about 6 in, they will only grow enough to fit in their surroundings and should be ok, if we don't put any more fish in the tank.