What fish should I get for my tank

Beginner_Sam

Reaction score
I’m a beginner dude for fish. Im going tomorrow to buy fish for my tank. Suggest me some fish for my 37-gallon tank.

I’m a beginner dude for fish. Im going tomorrow to buy fish for my tank. Suggest me some fish for my 37-gallon tank.
Sorry but can't give any advice. First there are questions that need answered such as if the tank has been cycled, what are the water parameters and such.

Different fish need different water and it is a must that we know your type of water to even begin to offer advice as to a fish population.

Please do NOT buy fish until all the above is resolved.

What are the tank dimensions (length x width x height)?
Try to get an aquarium that is long and wide rather than one that is tall and narrow. Surface area (length x width) is better for the fish.

------------------

What is the GH (general hardness), KH (carbonate hardness) and pH of your water supply?
This information can usually be obtained from your water supply company's website (Water Analysis Report) or by telephoning them. If they can't help you, take a glass full of tap water to the local pet shop and get them to test it for you. Write the results down (in numbers) when they do the tests. And ask them what the results are in (eg: ppm, dGH, or something else).

Depending on what the GH of your water is, will determine what fish you should keep.

Angelfish, discus, most tetras, most barbs, Bettas, gouramis, rasbora, Corydoras and small species of suckermouth catfish all occur in soft water (GH below 150ppm) and a pH below 7.0.

Livebearers (guppies, platies, swordtails, mollies), rainbowfish and goldfish occur in medium hard water with a GH around 200-250ppm and a pH above 7.0.

If you have very hard water (GH above 300ppm) then look at African Rift Lake cichlids, or use distilled or reverse osmosis water to reduce the GH and keep fishes from softer water.

------------------