Using Water From You Refrigerator With Filter

Dalejr_802

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
i have a refrigerator that has a filter for its water do you think i can use this insted of buying an RO system.... i cant see whats inside the filter but the filter is shapped like one of those media used for RO system ima holla at ya if i got more info about the filter and the brand of my refrigeratos is kenmore

Whats the model of the fridge so we can research/read about it? Well, I looked at the kenmore refrigeration page on their own website, and I cant see any model with a built in RO system. DOH! Got a model number Dale Jr?

I am no expert on RO and the associated systems, but my gut feeling when I read this post was that the filter inside would be more like a 'Britta' Water filter than an RO water filter.

Stop me if I am wrong, but from my memory and RO filter has a filter so fine that the water needs to be pressurized to move through it (i.e it is effectively pumped). Whereas your standard tap water filter relies on gravity to force the water through the filters and particles it has.

I am no expert on RO and the associated systems, but my gut feeling when I read this post was that the filter inside would be more like a 'Britta' Water filter than an RO water filter.

Stop me if I am wrong, but from my memory and RO filter has a filter so fine that the water needs to be pressurized to move through it (i.e it is effectively pumped). Whereas your standard tap water filter relies on gravity to force the water through the filters and particles it has.