Upgrading to 4' tank

Megan

Reaction score
Hi

I am relatively new to fish keeping (this time) had fish when I was a kid..... (didn't most of us?) We have previously had several marine fish tanks but they are now gone. So I know a very little of the basics.

I had a 2' tank with a 4" and a 6" clown loach, 2 goldfish (who got quite large) and a bronze cory. I know I shouldn't have put them in there......... but that is a long story. Anyway it was either get rid of the tank or upgrade. Well what do you do?? I couldn't bring myself to give the clown loaches or the cory away, the goldfish (2) moved to the neighbours next door. And so I then had to get them some friends as they looked very sad and stayed in hiding (which they were not doing before when the goldfish were in there). I got 5 kuhli loaches (which came with an accidental harlequin rasbora) and the clowns still hid so I got another 5 really small rasboras (having found out that they need to be in a group) for the dither effect.

I know that this is too much for such a small tank but I have been ever vigilent and keeping it clean until the new tank is ready. And I bought them knowing they would be in the new tank in about a week. They all move in 3 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can't wait.

When the fish are all in the new tank there will be:

2 clown loaches (going to eventually be 5)
5 kuhli loaches (probably get more of them too)
11 rasboras
5 bronze corys

I have lots of hiding places, 2 largish bits of wood and also lots of plants in the new tank. There is a oversized canister filter and 3 fluoros. Am going to get a powerhead for a bit more current.