Unhappy Guppies?

maninahat

Reaction score
EDIT - see posts below for updates on situation

Hi there folks.

I have a trio of male guppies which I've been keeping for a few months now. For a while they've seemed happy and active (though one of them would get bullied occasionally). More recently however, they've seemed a little lack lustre. They hang around in the same spots, either at the top of the tank, or resting on the gravel. No other symptoms are apparent.

Is this typical guppy behaviour? Or are they being upset by something?

CONDITIONS:
- 6 gallon planted aquarium (yes, a bit too small)
- 1 or 2 1/3 water changes a week
- pH of 8.0, no traces of ammonia
- Their only tank mates are a pair of Amano shrimp
- No medicines, and only a weekly splash of fertilizer is used
- To reduce the HOB filter current, I use a filter sponge in the outflow.
- no recent deaths or anything like that.

Two things readily spring to mind:
1) What is temperature is the water?
2) Are you using bacteria and a water conditioner when you do water changes? Or are you adding straight tap water?

Also when they're at the top/bottom of the tank are they motionless? (they don't move too much)

1. The temp is a bit higher than usual, due to the hot summer: 26 - 28 degrees C.
2. I use water conditioner on any water I add to the tank. I don't add bacteria.

The fish keep in one place, but flap their pectorals and make tiny movements. They are quick to respond if they see me coming close to the tank (thinking they'll get fed) and will become much more active for a minute or so.

Also, I checked to see if lighting made much of a difference. It doesn't. They're still sluggish with the lights on or off, in natural light or in the dark.