The yoyo tank

Alice B

Fish Herder
Reaction score
No baby fish for him to eat, probably no snails either but I do have fish food and he doesn't eat plants.... Both he and a lot of the plants are refugees from the 100 gallon.

Attachments

• 20240929_151425.jpg
    20240929_151425.jpg
    384.4 KB · Views: 42
Well, he's not a yoyo. I'm far from a loach expert. Maybe a young kubotai or a "ladder" (rostrata) loach. There are a couple other possibilities. Not a histrionica either...From the slight connecting lines between the vertical "ladders", I'm guessing a young botia kubotai (angelicus). A fish I've wanted to keep.

What size is it? What is the shape of your tank (dimensions)?

It would like to have at least 4-6 more of its same species to act "normal" for a schooling or shoaling species. It needs friends! Depending on what other fish you have, AND you can buy more of that species, I would get more.

The problem with that is it can be hard to find more of the same kind. The last several years I see mixed tanks of young botias & they are hard to tell apart, even to experienced loach keepers. The loaches.com species index has a comparison article or maybe 2 but it's separate from the loach forum there. I didn't find it in a quick search but maybe you can. There's also a FB group. I'm not sure if I've overstepped the TFF rules by saying that much, but I didn't link to any sites. PM me & I'll say more. Seriously fish is also a good place to look.