The Start

Ajwlive

Reaction score
Hey, I recently got into fish and especially fish tanks, very fun to watch and relaxing too, I thought I knew what I wanted until I started reading around the forum lol.

The one thing I have wanted all along is a nice clear tank, (very clear water) with some small colourful fish and one or two other types of fish (such as blowerfish I think they were called)
I have read around and I think Im looking for a 30 gallon tank roughly

I like the look of nano reefs, they look very clean and relaxing such as http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=F_oYgy42bUE

But I also like the look of normal tropical fish tanks such as http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=yaQPu4Ljd7g

Which would be easier to maintain and I guess which is cheapest?
Which type of fish am I looking at?
I have a few more questions but I could post them at a later date, (as you can tell im really really new to this hehe)

Thanks for anyhelp

hi, please excuse Gaz he obviously is being distracted in other areas this evening ;) :)

i would reccomend you either start by going cold water or tropical, go for the largest tank you can accomodate and afford ( bearing in mind running costs), i would reccomend leaving the marine untill you are further experienced as the mistakes are more costly
take your time to browse the forum, and enjoy it.. ask questions ,and get to know people,its great here :)
and welcome to TFF :)
shelagh xxx

I'll concur with the above post. Marines are definately less forgiving than most freshwater setups. That's not to say that a begginer can't keep one sucessfully, just that the cost is higher, the attention to detail has to be greater and as you specifically mentioned "Nano Reef" things can get even harder and more expensive again.