Terrapin Trouble

codell

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi i'm new to this and was hoping someone could help, only had my terrapin for a couple of days now and all he ever seems to do is swim against the glass constantly trying to escape i suppose??? also when i bought him from the shop he was up on a rock chilling and in the 3 days i've had him he will only pop his head out of the water for 5-10 minutes at a time, he won't go up on the rocks out of the water.

Is this normal behaviour???

Also whats the best way to handle these?

It really depends on what type of turtle you have. Could you describe him or post some photos?

CIMG3351.jpg

one of those lol

It looks like some sort of map turtle to me. The best solution I can think of is to check the air temperature. I'm not sure what your turtle will like it at, but try adjusting it a bit. Also, do you have a lamp over the land part? If you don't, maybe it watns one. Or maybe it's just not a turtle that enjoys basking.

non tbh, i got the water temp set at 25'c and the air temp is betyween 26 & 27'c is this ok? can someone show me some tidy pics of their set up please just to give me a clue.

non tbh, i got the water temp set at 25'c and the air temp is betyween 26 & 27'c is this ok? can someone show me some tidy pics of their set up please just to give me a clue.

I think you will need a lamp for it to bask.

Timmy's all sorted now up on every platform he can find basking, he's a funny little character now he knows where they all are, he will get to the highest point of one of the platforms stay there for five then somehow launch himself off into the water lol, he'll repeat this for or five times before swimming round chilling lol

Could you describe the tank you have? Size, water level, lighting, filter etc?