Taking Care Of Mosquito Larvae?

jerboux

Reaction score

Hi i am a newbie in your wonderful forum and inexperienced freshwater fish lover :)

I put a tray with water inside my room (yeah I'm inviting mosquitoes to enter my room :lol: ) so that mosquitoes will lay their eggs there. few days later, there are tiny larvae wobbling up and down the tray, when they are very visible to my eyes i transfer them (using a medicine dropper) into a specimen container with fresh alkaline water inside it and put a very small pinch of bettamin flakes inside, cover, and shake it gently up and down so that the flakes sink. it's amazing to know and watch them eating flakes while they where hanging upside down. 2-3 days they will transform into a pupa. in order to prevent them from becoming a mosquito, i put them in another specimen container and freeze them.

do you think this method of feeding my babies with live food is harmful? coz here in the Philippines i can't find bloodworm or blackworm in any petstore we've got. I read an article here in the net that says bloodworm were actually mosquito larvae? others say it's not. so which is which? :no:

btw, another concern of mine, i also read about pH level should be 7. something depending on how hardy your fish will be. we have a local alkaline water refilling station. they were claiming, that it has the perfect pH. "Natural water with its rich mineral content has a slightly alkaline pH. It supports the average pH7.35 of your body fluids which is necessary for transporting oxygen, regulating metabolism, eliminating acidic waste, and preventing disease." it is written in their water container. (here beside me :lol: ) so when I'm doing my partial water change i do not put water conditioner. before, I'm using purified mineral water. I started doing this 2 weeks ago. Should I go back using purified mineral water?