Taking A Holiday With A Partially Cycled Tank

travelling-guppy

Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to this tropical fish world. Having read around the subject a bit I started by cycling my tank using the add and wait method described on this site. It was hard not to buy lots of shiny, little fish from the shop but I want to do this right.
I now have no ammonia for the first time (Hurray) but nitrates still off the scale. I am going out of town for 10 days in a week or two and I am not sure how to leave the tank to keep the colonies of bacteria that I will have painstakingly built up. Any ideas or will I have to start from scratch when I return.
Thanks for the help.

Welcome! :good: Good job starting out on the right track!

You could put a tied off nylon stocking or mesh bag in the tank with a DEAD cocktail/jumbo shrimp in it (the kind you eat, if you have a grocery with a seafood counter you can get just one or two shrimp, if you don't want to buy a whole frozen bag of shrimp), it should decay slowly over time and feed the tank with ammonia for the time you are gone.

You didn't say how big your tank is, but I'm assuming it's not humongous and that one shrimp should do for the week or so you're gone.

Thanks. That sounds like a good idea. My tank is tiny - 23 litres, so would one or two shrimp do?

Yeah, I think one shrimp would be OK for the time you're gone as long as its one of those big shrimps

The assumption here I guess is that you can't convince a friend or neighbor to come in and dose the tank. Dosing the tank once every other day would keep the bacteria at about their current level but would not have the big stink of the decayed prawn when you came back. But assuming you can't or don't want to have a dosing person, the prawn should also work out ok. WD