@#%$#@#$ stupid gravel cleaner

gale

Fish Herder
Reaction score
I have the type with a ball in the end of the wide part and you just push it in and out of the water to get it started. Well with my 10gallon tank I don't know if it's because the tank is so small or the gravel cleaner is defective (I use a separate one for each tank) but it's a real pain in the butt to get the siphon started. I literally bang the stupid thing all over the place, uprooting my plants, moving decorations, and probably pissing off my fish and snails. Is there an easier type? Maybe with a hand pump in one end or something?

btw this is the only one I can find around here other than one that is tiny like the 6" model I use for my 2 gallon tank. Which works perfectly.

I find all the gadgets and gizmos they sell to make maintenance "easier" are simply frustration sources. When I need to start a siphon, I suck on the pipe. People tell me how bad that is for me, but I've been doing it like that for over 40 years and haven't developed white spot yet.

Lateral Line said:
I find all the gadgets and gizmos they sell to make maintenance "easier" are simply frustration sources. When I need to start a siphon, I suck on the pipe. People tell me how bad that is for me, but I've been doing it like that for over 40 years and haven't developed white spot yet.
:rofl: lol :rofl:

Gail, it's not just yours.....i have the same problem with my vac.....supposed to jerk it up and down to start the syphon off but just end up trashing the sodding tank layout and freaking the fish out!! :X

What I do now is use my "syphon ball" to start it off and all works perfectly.

The syphon ball came with my fluval cani filter but I am sure you could pick one up from a LFS.

Other alternative, as LL says is to start the syphon by sucking the tube! :crazy:

Nice, not!!

steve 8)

i do 2 things depending on my mood
1) suck the end of the tube :alien: