Stocking help for planted discus tank

Pellington

Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first post :)

I am brand new to freshwater and I am hoping for some comments/thoughts on my proposed stock list. I am going straight in the deep-end with a planted discus aquarium, but I have 5 years experience of keeping marines so I am confident I am up to the challenge!

Here is a summary of my tank & equipment and my ideal stock list underneath.

Tank/Equipment
Tank: Aqua Marin Fresh 1200
Aquarium dimensions: 120 x 50 x 48 cm
Volume: 300 L
Lighting: 59w Fluval Plant 3.0 Bluetooth LED
Filter: Oase BioMaster Thermo External Filter 600

Proposed stock list
6 x Stendker Discus (keen to get a mix of colours including pigeon blood, white leopard and blue snakeskin) = 120cm of fish
15 x Cardinal Tetra = 45cm of fish
15 x Lemon Tetra = 45cm of fish
2 x German Blue Ram = 12cm of fish
2 x Cockatoo Dwarf Cichlid = 12cm of fish
2 x Zebra Pleco = 20cm of fish
2 x Kuhli Loach = 14cm of fish

Total = 268cm of fish in a 300 L tank...

I am also thinking maybe 20 x Amano shrimp and 10 x Nerite snails, but I would appreciate some advice on these numbers.

Does this seem OK? Any specific conflicts or considerations?

Thanks in advance!
P

6 x Stendker Discus (keen to get a mix of colours including pigeon blood, white leopard and blue snakeskin) = 120cm of fish
15 x Cardinal Tetra = 45cm of fish
15 x Lemon Tetra = 45cm of fish
2 x German Blue Ram = 12cm of fish
2 x Cockatoo Dwarf Cichlid = 12cm of fish
2 x Zebra Pleco = 20cm of fish
2 x Kuhli Loach = 14cm of fish
Are you going by the inch per gallon rule or just using it as reference?

Just so you know, kuhli loaches like to be kept in groups of 6+ due to stress... When in larger groups they are more confident
Thanks Rocky!