Startup Questions..

IceyBlack

Reaction score
Hello,
I am a complete newbie.
I have a tank holding 57 gallons, with a filter system that has come with it - in the hood.
The tank hasn't yet been filled with water and I am looking to begin my fishless cycle this coming week.
I'm not sure of the type of fish yet - still thinking :rolleyes: - I know I'd like some neon tertra and a community tank.

What type of heater would I be best to use?
Should I go for 2 small heaters, or just one main heater?
What happens if there is a power cut?

Should I use pea gravel or sand or a mix?
I've been told sand could block the filters easily - is this correct?
What type of medium do I need - and can I just get this from the fish shop?

Do I need a top to put on top of the tank under the hood?

Do I put the plants in straight away?

What fish would you recommend as first in when I have fully cycled?? (I will be trying to follow the cycling article step by step).

Sorry so many questions....but want to get things right - and I know the fish shop may well have a different agenda to mine

Hello,
I am a complete newbie.
I have a tank holding 57 gallons, with a filter system that has come with it - in the hood.
The tank hasn't yet been filled with water and I am looking to begin my fishless cycle this coming week.
I'm not sure of the type of fish yet - still thinking :rolleyes: - I know I'd like some neon tertra and a community tank.

What type of heater would I be best to use?
Should I go for 2 small heaters, or just one main heater?
What happens if there is a power cut?

Should I use pea gravel or sand or a mix?
I've been told sand could block the filters easily - is this correct?
What type of medium do I need - and can I just get this from the fish shop?

Do I need a top to put on top of the tank under the hood?

Do I put the plants in straight away?

What fish would you recommend as first in when I have fully cycled?? (I will be trying to follow the cycling article step by step).