Starting my first 125g with some questions!

Morasea

Reaction score
Hi all, I’ve just recently built an 8ft long stand to house a 75 gallon I recently picked up, so naturally with all that extra room, I upgraded to a 125g for the first time!

Because this is my first build at this size I really want to do this right and make this my main aquarium. I’m planning on scaping and planting it heavily. I’ll be running a new eheim 2217 which is rated to filter 160 gallons.
This will also be my first time testing the waters of CO2.

Although I have lots of experience in planting and scaling aquariums I am a bit confused by CO2.
My two main questions while getting into this are:
1.How complicated does a co2 setup on this size tank need to be and how inexpensive can it be without robbing the tank of anything?
2.I wanted to see if anyone had any opinions on stocking and bioload. I am hoping to have around
-Around 4-6 angelfish
-6-8 Geophagus
-3 Electric blue acaras
-1-2 groups of large body tetras
Bleeding heart tetras
Emperor tetras
Colombian tetras
-Group of corydoras
-BN plecos or whiptail catfish

Any opinion is appreciated, especially with stocking choices as to me this sounds like a lot of fish but I’ve never had a tank this large and I see people with setups like this frequently. Thanks for any feedback!

I really like my CO2Art system. I bought their larger in tank diffuser for my 75, but if I went to a larger tank, I'd go for their in line diffuser, but that is a personal preference. Get a 10# tank at minimum. I'm running a 5, but I have a half dozen of them because I also brew beer so they are multi purpose. I quality of the CO2Art is great and have been really happy with it. You can try a DYI system that uses fermentation to create CO2, but they aren't as precise.