Starting a new marine aquarium

davudvl

Reaction score
I am new to the marine hobby. I am going to set up a 124 gallon tank. It will be a fish only system with live rock.
1. I live in Los Angeles, CA and my local dealer recommended a cooler. It runs about $750. Do I really need one?
2. What is an overflow box and is it necessary?
3. What are some of the best acrylic tank manufacturers?
4. Lastly, these are the fish that I eventually plan to have in this tank:

1. Lionfish ( Volitans or Zebra)
2. Trigger ( Picasso or Niger)
3. Scribbled Angel
4. Purple or yellow Tang. ( I am worried though that they catch ich easily).
5. Snowflake Morray.

Please give your opinions as to anything you would add or subtract from this community of fish.

P.S.
I read that a lot of people advise to set up a quarrantine tank. I have no room for one. Can I get away without having the quarrantine tank?
Your feedback is greately appreciated.

I dont live in such a hot climate but if you cannot keep the temperature of the tank below 82 and stable then you will run into trouble.
Marine tanks tend to have more powerheads and pumps than a freshwater so the heat given off by these head will increase the temperature of the tank. You can use fans to over the water surface to lower teh temperature but this does increase the evaporation of watrer in the tank considerably.

An overflow box is used mainly for tanks that have a sump and are not drilled. Rather than drilling holesin the tank to feed the sump you can get overflow boxes to help with the syphoning. They can be tempermental and tricky to set up. If you can get a tank drilled then its a better option.

As im based in the UK i cannot answer your question about Acrylic.