Snail Care: Cracks in Shell

Bosemani_vh

Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to the forum, so please advise if this post belongs elsewhere or I'm missing any post etiquette/info!

Tank Specs:
- 150 gal
- pH 7.8
- Calcium Hardness 150 ppm*
- Water Temp 80° F
- Tank age: many years old and cycled
- Ammonia 0
- Nitrites 0
- Nitrates 10

* NOTE I used my hot tub water test kit to get the exact Calcium hardness ppm. My GH/KH kit is expired. Planning to grab one this afternoon though. Generally my water is fairy hard though and I have some rock hardscape in the tank.

Snail Breed: Purple Mystery Snail
I'm pretty new to caring for snails. I only adopted this Snail back at the end of May, so I'm not sure what's helpful share outside of the fact that it's an adult snail roughly 1in diameter.

Diet: I feel a variety of frozen and flake food for my other fish, for which I'm sure the snail snacks on, however I specifically feed the following to supplement the snail's diet:
- Algea wafers (Hikari brand)
- Vacation fish feeders (I think Aqeon brand, but can double check. I'd read that many of these have supplemental calcium for snails, so I found a brand that had mostly whole ingredients and included calcium)

Ailment/Problem:
My snail has started to develop cracks in its shell that makes the front quarter inch of the shell near the mantel appear wrinkled. (See photo attachment)

My initial assessment would have been low pH or low Calcium based on my research, but these parameters seem to be fine.

Is my pH potentially too high? Other thoughts? Appreciate any guidance or ideas you can share!!

Attachments

• 20230728_171859.jpg
    20230728_171859.jpg
    305.4 KB · Views: 32
The pH can cause the shell to dissolve and break up if the pH is too low (below 7.0). However, your pH is above 7.0 and that is fine, so the pH isn't causing this.

Calcium shouldn't be the issue.

Has anyone been handling the snail and dropped it?