Siamese Fighting Fish Behaviour

sausage dog

Reaction score
Hi there, I am new to owning fish so please be patient.

I have a couple of lovely Siamese Fighting Fish, one male and one female. Although they seem to be able to co-exist in the tank I have noticed that the male keeps chasing the female around with his Gills open. I guess I need to know if this type of behaviour is normal, or whether they need to be seperated?

I am also curious as to what conditions the male builds the bubble nest? Do they need something in the tank to build it around?

Thanks

Found this on mod queue in the fish index. Moved.

as a general rule females and males shouldn't be kept together as it's likely they will fight and one or both will be seriously injured or die. They should only be kept together when you want to breed and even then only after lots of conditioning. You should seperate immediately.

One of the fist things people should know about bettas is their aggressive behaviour. Betta fish are nutorious for their fighting, hence the name Siamese Fighting Fish. Males definetly cannot be kept together, and males and females should only be kept together for the brief period of spawning. You should separate them as soon as possible, if you have not already done so.

The male builds a bubble nest when he feels ready to spawn, which is pretty much the whole year. Mine builds his bubble nest just along the edge where the bowl meets the water. If you want to encourage your betta to spawn, you can place a clean leaf, a styrofoam cup cut in half and placed on the water, the cut part on the water and making a dead end tunnel (tapes to the edge of the glass), and he should build his bubble nest there. However, mine builds one without any encouragement and I was slightly hesitant to clean his bowl the first few weeks. XD