Shrimp died over night

Pennyangus

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm so sad today. I'm fairly new to having a bigger tank and woke up and found all 3 of my shrimp dead which we've had for 1.5 years so to find all 3 dead I was so confused.

On doing research I used some plant fertiliser yesterday which contains copper which I didn't know couldn't be used with shrimp I feel so sad and guilty for putting that in without checking. It said nothing online about not being able to use that fertiliser with shrimps.

I'm trying to get my plants to grow but they seem to be fading and becoming see through I thought fertiliser should help but its obvious toxic what can I be doing.

Shrimps actually need some copper - their blood contains copper rather than iron like ours. It's too much copper that harms them. I use copper containing fertiliser and my shrimps, red cherries and amanos, are fine. But the fertiliser does not contain a lot of copper. Which fertiliser have you used?

Did you do anything to the tank the day before they died? Water change, new decor, new plants?
If you did add new plants, do you know where they came from - the grower that is? Plants grown in the far east are treated with snail killer and/or insecticide which kill shrimps as well.

It's aqua care fertiliser. And I added 2 new plants same day but they came from local pond shop delivered though do you think that might have been why

The fertiliser says use once a week. Does that mean if I haven't done a water change within the week the level of copper would be too high when I've used the 2nd dose ?

It could well have been why. If they were from a pond shop they could well have been grown in the far east as the shrimps we keep in tanks indoors wouldn't survive in ponds in the UK. The fact that the shrimps were dead very quickly after putting the plants in strongly suggests something on the plants killed the shrimps. If it was the fertiliser, the shrimps would have died as soon as you started using it.