Should I Buy an External Filter?

DMR123

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to keeping fish and instead of spending hours and hours trying to Google answers and finding nothing, I figured joining a forum where my questions can be answered directly would be a great benefit, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I purchased a "Tetra 105L Starter Line Fish Tank" but changed the filter straight away as felt like it was incredibly poor quality and just kept falling apart. So I'm currently using a AquaEl 500 filter. I keep rosie tetra's, cardinal tetra's & black widow tetra's in the tank.

Is there any benefit of an external filter over what I'm currently using. I've read online that its a great benefit, then I've read while searching this forum that it may not be necessary.

Dan

Which filter do you have? AquaEl make a Turbo 500 and an ASAP 500? Both have a turnover of 500 litres per hour which is plenty for a 105 litre tank.
All your fish come from slow moving water and would not appreciate a faster water flow. The Turbo model in particular has plenty media for the bacteria, though once the tank has been running a while there will be bacteria in the substrate as well as on every surface in the tank.

Some reading for you :)

I like external filters because you tend to have more media space and they aren’t sitting in your tank looking nasty

With 105 litre tank, an external has to chosen carefully making note of the filter's turnover. An external made for a large tank could turn it into a whirlpool, not recommended for fish from slow moving water. There are suitable externals out there, you just have to read all the technical details carefully.

With 105 litre tank, an external has to chosen carefully making note of the filter's turnover. An external made for a large tank could turn it into a whirlpool, not recommended for fish from slow moving water. There are suitable externals out there, you just have to read all the technical details carefully.