Setting up brackish water tank for 50 gallon tank

Puffafish

Reaction score
Hello, im new to brackish water since I only have 2 freshwater tank for my guppies. I wanted to ask on what canister filter that is good but affordable for a 50 gallon tank? This tank is for my 4 baby green spotted fish that my brother just bought before even doing research because the lfs said that they are fully fresh water and i googled about them and found out they need brackish water. I’m going to buy a 50 gal tank tomorrow and how long do i need to cycle the tank before moving them in. Im planning on putting fine sands with some rocks and decoration caves for the gsp.

Right now is it ok if i do 30% daily water change for the puffer in my 5.5gal while waiting to set up bigger tank tomorrow?

Hi welcome to the forum :) Well done for researching these fish and realising what you need to do and making sure you do it!

GSPs are an awesome fish and I'm so glad you are getting them the tank they need. I can't advise properly on brackish set ups as I've never touched salt but there will be other people who can help. But it may be worth starting these puffers and the filter cycle in freshwater and slowly increase the salinity GSPs do best in brackish to marine waters but do live in freshwater through the year.

If you have them in a tank with an uncycled filter you will need to be doing lots of water changes through the week - ideally daily, if they they are small you can keep them in the 5 gallon as it will be easier than the 50 but make sure you start that cycling too. In a few weeks you should be able to add over the fish and the bio media from the 5 gallon tank and then keep an eye on ammonia and nitrites.