sand

Jen

Fish Gatherer
Reaction score
I'm thinking of changing around my tank... going more natural. Right now I use small gravel in browns and beiges, but I have been thinking of going the sand subtrate route.

How do you go about cleaning it... syphoning and whatnot.

Have you had good experiences with it, or bad. Anything you can tell me is muchly appreciated

well i would go with a mix with mostly sand and some of yuor gravel scattered around ..it is relatively easy to claean just once a week run chop sticks anround the sand to let the gas buildups out and stir the junk around and every so often syphon the crap off the to by holding the syphon hose about an inch above the sand it should pick up most of the junk...i am somewhat new with sand but i havent had any bad experiences with it and my fish seem to like it :D :D 8) :flex:

ya buy the sand right? u dont jus grab some from the beach do ya lol

i bought my sand and there is a wide variety of sands to buy that will suit ur tank...i wouldn't get sand from the beech who know what chemicals r in there :crazy: :blink:

when setting it up... go you do it the same as gravel... 1 and a half - 2 inches at the back and 1 inch at the front? something like that?

Generally, you'd want it about the same thickness as gravel would be.

But personally, I'd go a little thicker than 1" in the front.

You'd probably want extra thickness (3-4" total), too, if you plan on having live plants with large root systems.

look at my earlier post that how u go about kleening it