Ridiculous Question About Endlers!

lisa2701

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Ok so I am kinda really embarrassed to even ask this but I am new to fish and really starting to question something.

I have 6 male Endler guppies (hybrids I suspect) which I bought from a store. So, there is one Endler which is larger than the rest, and got a lot less colour, BUT it still DOES have colour but has a lot of silver on the body. So all the other fish have been pestering the living day lights out of this poor soul, displaying to it and chasing it etc, and I've noticed today it has 'a belly' on it that the others dont have, its just a slightly different shape :blink:. Is it even remotely possible that its female but has colour??

Ok, you can stop :rofl: now :blush: .... but you just never know with these things unless you ask eh? :blush: :blush:

img4965.jpg
check their anal fins as in picture

Ok I think it IS male but it won't sit still for even a second to give me a good look, but I am pretty sure its male. I definitely think its got guppy in it very recently in the line so maybe that explains the shape?

Can someone confirm either way the sex of this endler guppy? I think he's male but I've had to put him in a breeders net as he's getting harassed/picked on something silly by the other males and hes now unwell. :(

i know the picture is horrific quality but I can't get a decent pic of him out with the breeders net and of course the net blocks the picture so.... my apologise

79F56CAD-8FDF-4E74-873C-77D1CAC1F945-105-000000A5E952BC4D.jpg

77C4C6BD-B87A-498C-8843-9903B6A32070-105-000000A607282C8C.jpg

It could actually be a female, the anal fin looks a little fan shaped in that picture. The male anal fin is shaped kind of like a stick seeing as it's his *ahem* "member"

The picture daz posted above shows it really well. Males will kind of "wag it about" (typical :rolleyes:)...