Red Wag Platy

badtothebone322

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to this, that's why I'm posting here. I can't really tell if this Red Wag Platy is pregnant, or not. I just bought her from the fish store yesterday along with 1 other female, and 1 male. Since I've gotten her, she looks a bit bigger than the others. Her stromach is white, and really big. I don't really see a black spot, but I will provide a picture of her, and please tell me what you guys think! Sorry the picture isn't so clear, but she always stays near the bottom or in a tunnel. She doesn't really move, but this was the shot I snapped of her quickly.

SS851124.jpg

Well she defo looks like it.

From the size of the pic it's difficualt to be sure how far but i would expect fry in the next week or so :)

Good luck.

Well she defo looks like it.

From the size of the pic it's difficualt to be sure how far but i would expect fry in the next week or so :)

Good luck.

Thank you so much! I was hoping she was! I really love taking care of the fry. I had them three times before, but they never last too long. This time I am really going to strive to grow them to maturity!Is there anything I should do so that the fry won't get eaten as soon as they're born?

Also, is it normal for them to be pregnant, but not have a black spot? I thought that was the determining fact of they were or not?

Not all fish show gravid spot's this is why you cant always go buy that alone.

I might of edited the post above to late, but I'll ask again just in case:

Should I do anything with her so that the fry don't get eaten, or so that they have a better chance of survival? I heard that they can get stressed fairly easy and not deliver the babies, so I don't want to harm her, or them.

Do u have a rearing tank to separate the fry off to, or rear them along side the parents?
Or do u have a breeding trap(not the best of things)?
What other fish do u have in the main tank?