Rams

markandhisfish

comfortably numb
Reaction score
due to upgrade tank this year , with a few exceptions most oif my current fish will be rehomed cos i want to get away from the usual tetras etc and have slightly larger fish.

i want to add some blue rams but have read thet they are quite fussy and like a mature tank,

once the new tank is cycled i will put in my pearl gouramis ret tailed black shark and plec
how long after this would you leave it before adding the rams when i read mature tank im thinkin in terms of 6 months

fwiw, 6 months is the time period I've heard associated with the term "mature tank" also, but I'm not an expert in rams

thats what im thinking but dont wanna wait that long for em!!

Rams prefer a ph between 6.5 and 7.2, however they can be acclimatised to slighter higher ph's (mine are in 7.6 and doing well).

A mature tank is best, possibly 3 -4 months, but more important is water quality. Ie: no ammonia, nitrites and preferably nitrates under 20ppm.

You will want plenty of hiding places and plants as these make them more secure and more likely to come out. I would concerned with the RTBS with them. Rams as with all cichlids are territorial as is the RTBS, so I would re-home him too.

How many where you thinking of getting? What size will the tank be?

They are sensitive fish but providing you keep up with the water quality and keep them with relatively peaceful fish, you should be ok.

Edit to add, they like water temp to be around 80, so bear that in mind when choosing other fish.

I would def say the rtbs and rams are a no go together depending on what sized tank you have (a very big tank is less of an issue). If you have a 150L tank, then I would say a pair would fit in their perfectly. Anything smaller and you might want to just get a single individual for the reason of territory and that if the ram pair breeds, they will harrass all your other stocking to protect their babies (like all cichlids, very good parents).

Ox :good: