Puppy business

gwand

Supporting Member
Pet of the Month 🎖️
Reaction score
I have had dogs my whole life. I’ve raised them from puppies into adulthood. All of them warehouse trained within four weeks. Six weeks ago we picked up an 8 week old cockapoo. She’s as cute as can be. In the first week with us she learned to sit, stay, stand on two legs and lie. So I know she’s not mentally challenged. However, I cannot housebreak this dog. For six weeks no matter what strategy I’ve tried, she cannot distinguish the inside from the outside of the house. This is getting distressing. I know many of my aquarium friends on the website are also dog owners. Any tips that I may not have tried. I’ve looked at 10 different utubes and read puppies for dummies. I re-emphasize that I am not a novice at this but right now I need some new strategies.
IMG_3195.jpeg

My gosh… that is one very cute puppy. Be sure you enter her in the Pet of the Month contest which is now accepting entries.

I won the last one. I think I am ineligible this time.

oh...that's correct...you would have to skip this one....but be sure to enter the next POTM contest in July ;)

Take her outside for an hour after eating.

Take her outside first thing in the morning, last thing at night, and regularly throughout the day. Leave her out there until she goes to the loo then praise her.

I took mine out hourly at 8 weeks (4 hourly overnight) and gradually reduced.
When I saw him getting ready to wee I called "wee wee" and praised / cuddled when he was done. "Potty" for a number two.
Now he goes on command.

Take her outside for an hour after eating.

Take her outside first thing in the morning, last thing at night, and regularly throughout the day. Leave her out there until she goes to the loo then praise her.
We do that. After an hour outside without peeing or pooping she comes inside and pees or poops. She can go 6 hours without a poop after a meal or she may go an hour later. Unpredictable. 😤