Pregnant muppy?!

Fisharefriends101

Reaction score
Hi! So 3 weeks ago I bought some new fish including this muppy. 3 days after I got her she gave birth to 18 fry. I noticed a few days ago that she’s started to look very big and boxy again, then today she became very reserved and hidden in the tank. I’ve been reading what I can online and due to her colour I don’t know if I’m seeing a gravid spot or not. I have placed her into a breeding box temporarily to get a closer look at her and incase she does happen to give birth soon. She has been pooping like crazy for hours in there and I know that can be an indicator before they give birth too.

So I suppose my question is, is she actually pregnant (or am I seeing things that aren’t there) and if she is, how long before she pops?

This complete beginner to tropical fish would appreciate any help!

Attachments

• 9AB77388-5A53-4F45-BB51-23CC0E00E456.jpeg
    9AB77388-5A53-4F45-BB51-23CC0E00E456.jpeg
    161.9 KB · Views: 90
  • 04637B66-3F2E-449E-8432-ED9697347C11.jpeg
    04637B66-3F2E-449E-8432-ED9697347C11.jpeg
    208.8 KB · Views: 57
Hi! So 3 weeks ago I bought some new fish including this muppy. 3 days after I got her she gave birth to 18 fry. I noticed a few days ago that she’s started to look very big and boxy again, then today she became very reserved and hidden in the tank. I’ve been reading what I can online and due to her colour I don’t know if I’m seeing a gravid spot or not. I have placed her into a breeding box temporarily to get a closer look at her and incase she does happen to give birth soon. She has been pooping like crazy for hours in there and I know that can be an indicator before they give birth too.

So I suppose my question is, is she actually pregnant (or am I seeing things that aren’t there) and if she is, how long before she pops?

This complete beginner to tropical fish would appreciate any help!