Pregnant Molly....separate?

DarkShadow435

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have a male and a female black molly. I have reason to believe that the female molly is pregnant. She's getting quite large. First question is should i take her out and put her into a breeder? Secondly, should i separate the babies (when she has them) from her and put them in a seperate tank once their born?

I guess what i'm asking is what i should do. I've only been keeping fish since december. I'm no pro at this, but i dont want the babies to die. Please help!!!!

untitled.JPG

u could get a net breeder it floats at the top of the main tank. u put the the female in when it looks massive and soon it will have all the babies. then u take the mother out and u can leave the babies in the net breeder. but if u have another empty tank you can put them in there. the babies will not need a filter but will need a heater maybe plants but no gravel or sand. take the water out of the main tank and put it in the tank for the babies ( so u know the water is safe).

the babies eat crushed flake food, liquifry food and baby brime shrimp when they grow quite big.

The fry will not need a filter as their bioload is so low, but that is not to say water changes should not be done regularly still.

Does my molly look pregnant in the picture? I know its hard to tell, but her belly is abit bigger than my other male molly.

What size tank should i use for the fry? would a 5.5 gal work?

Will she eat the fry if it is left too long?

i would say its pregnant. that size that is big enough. you could put the blck molly in the 5.5 gal tank and when she gives birth u can just take the female out, or eventually she will eat them.

Yes, it looks pregnant.
u could get a net breeder it floats at the top of the main tank. u put the the female in when it looks massive and soon it will have all the babies. then u take the mother out and u can leave the babies in the net breeder